My youngest girl

My youngest girl is like an icy spike
impaling my fragile heart
my heart
beating and bleeding for this youngest child
who is like a creeping fox
so small and swift and smart
it can bark and bite and never break
my egg in its needle teeth
my egg
which holds my beating, shivering heart
beating and shivering for this final child
who is the swift curling wind from my treasuries
the sweet blown scent of my being
my ultimate being
my last throw of eternity runes
this woman
who is the last child for whom
my heart beats
and bleeds

—Don Whittington

Fox and the Girl, by mala-lesbia, Deviant Art http://mala-lesbia.deviantart.com/art/fox-and-the-Girl-170025272 You should check her out.

 

Leave a Reply

